Highlighted

Introduce yourself to the community

Posted By: shauna-10x, on Sep 14, 2016 at 1:43 PM

Curious who else is on the 10x Community?  Introduce yourself and see who else shares your areas of expertise or interest.   For your introduction, we are asking 3 simple questions:

• What is your area of research/interest?
  • What makes you excited to do what you do?
  • When I’m not thinking about genomics, I like to ___________________.

After you introduce yourself, check out the Beta Badge Collection Challange and win some 10x swag.

7 Replies

Re: Introduce yourself to the community

Posted By: shauna-10x, on Sep 14, 2016 at 1:44 PM

Hello, I’m Shauna the 10x Community Manager. I’ve been working in NGS for over 9 years and have degrees in molecular biology and microbiology.  Before becoming a community manager, I spent time at the bench in R&D and was also a proud member of great customer support teams.

Helping to develop and support the NGS tools that researchers use to advance science and change the future drives me to be passionate about what I do.

When I’m not thinking about genomics (or the community, for that matter), I like to cook and try new recipes.  I whipped up some homemade baba ganoush for the first time and it was delicious with some pita bread.  My first attempt at ramen; however, wasn’t so successful.  But, that’s part of the fun.

Posted By: scott, on Sep 22, 2016 at 5:59 PM

Hi Everyone,

I'm Scott and I manage the NGS core facility at Monash Univeristy. We're the longest running Illumina service provider in Australia, starting way back in the "Version 1" Genome Analyzer days. My background is molecular microbiology, but we process samples (both collaborativly and as a service) for just about any type of sample from just about any source.